Gerry Canavan

the smartest kid on earth

Vonnegut’s Scalpel

with one comment

I didn’t learn until I was in college about all the other cultures, and I should have learned that in the first grade. A first grader should understand that his or her culture isn’t a rational invention; that there are thousands of other cultures and they all work pretty well; that all cultures function on faith rather than truth; that there are lots of alternatives to our own society. Cultural relativism is defensible and attractive. It’s also a source of hope. It means we don’t have to continue this way if we don’t like it. (source)

Written by gerrycanavan

November 25, 2012 at 5:03 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I cautiously agree. Cultural relativism has its limits. I think blind acceptance of all cultural practices, beliefs and mores allows abhorrent things to continue. I think we should not be afraid to explore the existence of objective rights and wrongs.

    Sam Loy

    November 28, 2012 at 4:55 pm


Leave a comment