Gerry Canavan

the smartest kid on earth

This is a land of peace, love, justice, and no mercy

with 3 comments

There was this Robert Mitchum movie. It was about these moonshine runners down South… I never saw the movie, I only saw the poster in the lobby in the theater. I took the title and I wrote this song. I didn’t think that there was ever a place that was like what I wrote this song about. I didn’t know if there was or not… We were out in the desert, over in the summertime, driving to Nevada, and we came upon this house on the side of the road that this Indian had built. Had a big picture of Geronimo out front, said ‘Landlord’ over the top… Had this big sign said “This is a land of peace, love, justice and no mercy.” And it pointed down this little dirt road that said “Thunder Road.”

Capitol Theater, Passaic, N.J., September 19, 1978. The whole entire legendary show is available here.

Written by gerrycanavan

December 13, 2007 at 8:55 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. In the End I have found a transcription of this introduction (a beautiful story), but you omit to say the very last few words after the title “Thunder Road” when he said this is for… and then I can’t Understand! Could You Help?

    Ciao!

    Mirko

    November 29, 2010 at 1:19 pm

  2. I think he’s just dedicating the performance to someone. It sounds to me like it’s “Maddie.” Jaimee thinks he’s saying “Patty.”

    gerrycanavan

    November 29, 2010 at 1:49 pm

  3. Someone says that he said “for Matty”

    ilreditonga

    August 10, 2015 at 3:20 pm


Leave a Reply

