Gerry Canavan

the smartest kid on earth

This Is Just Exactly Like Me

with 6 comments

It’s not just that Canavan would be familiar enough for her, or that only he would be. Canavan also and on top of everything tends to be a generally decent guy, funny, a quick ally at the dinner table. He defends Beth’s wall-to-wall safety placards, explains Jack’s endless projects. He’ll have that sliding glass door back up in a week, right? Or: What’s so bad about having phone numbers close by when you need them? You’re just organized, is all. He’s helpful, courteous, cheerful, five or six other points of the Boy Scout Law. And now he’s a prick, too, to go with that.

I certainly hope nothing bad happens to “Terry Canavan” in the new novel from a guy I kinda-sorta used to know in Greensboro, Drew Perry.

Drew’s great and I bet the book is great: you should buy it.

Written by gerrycanavan

March 14, 2010 at 6:05 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ha! How strange. How’d you take this? It seems you’re the villain of the piece! Having said that, someone with my name shot and killed Elvis in “Love Me Tender” so I don’t think I can talk.

    Mike Gavin

    March 14, 2010 at 7:42 pm

  2. I think he must have just liked the way my name sounded. I’m all right with it.

    gerrycanavan

    March 14, 2010 at 7:50 pm

  3. LAWSUIT

    Neil

    March 14, 2010 at 9:24 pm

  4. I just received an email from my father talking “class action” on behalf of everyone injured by the novel.

    gerrycanavan

    March 14, 2010 at 10:01 pm

  5. The question is, “Who will play you in the movie?” Michael Cera? Peter O’Toole? Will Smith?

    DCNahm

    March 15, 2010 at 9:06 am


Leave a comment