Gerry Canavan

the smartest kid on earth

Tuesday Night Links

with 3 comments

* Scenes from the class struggle in Hogwarts: it costs at least $42,752 a year to get a proper wizarding education. UPDATE: Want more about the cost of attending Hogwarts? Misopogon at Dog Eat Crow World charges bravely into the weeds.

* Scenes from the class struggle in Cambridge: Reddit co-founder arrested for what amounts to an attempt to steal JSTOR. Reddit thread. MetaFilter thread.

* Contrarian watch: Naked Capitalism says Elizabeth Warren is too good, and too important, for the Senate. This all may be so, but I want her to run anyway.

* One down: Wis. Dem State Senator Wins Recall In Landslide.

* I’ve been trying to steel myself to the idea of a Mitt Romney primary win, despite my worry that he alone could actually beat Obama in 2012. (And maybe if Romney won he’d do something on the environment. It’s possible, right? UPDATE: Ugh.) Nate Silver puts an Obama-Romney race down at even odds. But TPM says I don’t need to worry: Mitt has already maxed out his donors. Chait concurs.

* The knives come out for Bachmann. More here, here, and here.

* Was Rupert Murdoch behind the CRU hack? Grist speculates. I’d also really like to know if there’s any truth to these several-years-old reports of a “black ops” room at Fox News. Related: Parliament determines News Corp. deliberately obstructed the investigation into the hacks.

Ron Howard’s planned Dark Tower megaseries has collapsed.

* And a truly great find: An NPR adaptation of A Canticle for Leibowitz from 1960.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Not trying to drive traffic to my blog or anything, but my friend Misopogon recently reacted to the Centive piece about Hogwarts at this link http://dogeatcrow.blogspot.com/2011/07/misopogon-talks-about-harry-potter.html. It’s long but it’s one of the most detailed analyses of the politics, genetics, and historical likelihoods behind the HP series. Well worth reading.

    I’ve been a huge fan of this blog, BTW. It’s required daily reading for me. I hope you find the Misopogon post entertaining.

    Tres Crow

    July 19, 2011 at 11:01 pm

    • Neat! I added the link to the main post.

      gerrycanavan

      July 19, 2011 at 11:09 pm

      • Awesome! Thanks.

        Tres Crow

        July 20, 2011 at 9:22 am


Leave a comment