Gerry Canavan

the smartest kid on earth

Monday!

with one comment

* Thirteen Three ways of looking at Obama:

* What have they done with President Obama? What happened to the inspirational figure his supporters thought they elected? Who is this bland, timid guy who doesn’t seem to stand for anything in particular?
* Regardless of whether or not you think President Obama is a progressive surrounded by failing institutions, a Rubinite centrist who puts on a good show, a political neophyte who is perpetually getting rolled by his adversaries or someone who hates fighting and prefers either floating above the fray or getting the half-a-loaf quickly, the way he is losing his battles should worry you about the longer-term project of liberalism and the Democratic Party.
* And, of course: 11! Dimensional! Chess!

* In other political news, Republicans have no one.

* When words change meaning.

* When space shuttles are retired.

* Science proves your students don’t really understand their sources.

* Science proves for-profit universities are a huge scam.

* Of course you had me at 10 Spectacularly Third-Rate Spider-Man Villains.

* And Tom Tomorrow is an it-getter.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I remember when I was writing papers as an undergraduate and not understanding my citations, etc., and still getting A’s. First, I said, “Fuck it, I’ll write what my teachers want me to write,” but gradually I began to understand what I was writing about and making arguments for myself.

    Alex

    April 11, 2011 at 1:21 pm


Leave a comment