Gerry Canavan

the smartest kid on earth

A Few Links for a Travelin’ Sunday

leave a comment »

After writing all of this I realize that I am not leaving my profession, in truth, it has left me. It no longer exists. I feel as though I have played some game halfway through its fourth quarter, a timeout has been called, my teammates’ hands have all been tied, the goal posts moved, all previously scored points and honors expunged and all of the rules altered. A teacher resigns.

* Academics have finally “started” to talk about capitalism? Inconceivable!

Take the example of online education, for which excitement is rapidly building in California. Morozov notes in the book that it might very well produce more graduates per dollar spent, but it also might miss the very point of education.

* An outrage of the week right in my own backyard: Botched ATF sting in Milwaukee ensnares brain-damaged man.

“I have never heard of anything so ludicrous in my life,” said Greg Thiele, who spent 30 years working for the Milwaukee Police Department including on undercover stings with federal agents, including those with the ATF. “Something is very wrong here.”

* The latest from the law school scam.

* How people die in Shakespearean tragedy.

* And when continuity collides: The new Doctor Who companion’s ten-second appearance in Captain America.

Leave a Reply

