Gerry Canavan

the smartest kid on earth

Wednesday 2!

with 5 comments

* “If banks wrote down all underwater mortgages to market value and refinanced the homeowners into 30-year, fixed-rate loans at current market interest rates, that would pump $71 billion into the national economy”—and create one million jobs. But the banks won’t do it.

* NPR has scientifically determined the top 100 SF and fantasy books of all time. Don’t get me wrong: I’m very fond of Lord of the Rings, and I love Hitchhiker’s Guide, but they’re really not the very best the genre has to offer…

* Cyclops as Magneto, Wolverine as Professor X? That really doesn’t seem right. Via TNC.

* Why does Obama keep making these terrible jokes about his wife? It’s embarrassing, and about three decades out of date to boot.

* Redefining pedophila as a sexual orientation? I find it’s very hard to have any sort of open mind on this.

* Another reality TV suicide.

* And I admit I didn’t see this coming: Bachmann Staffer Arrested for Terrorism in Uganda in 2006.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Random responses to various links:

    1) Do you honestly think Obama talking that way about his wife is accidental? I wouldn’t be surprised if he screened the remarks with her before he said them, as in, “Honey, I’m going to say some bullshit about you buying shoes and balanced budget because I’m trying to appeal to 50-to-70 year-old midwesterners. Is that okay?” Or he could really be that type of guy.

    2) While I don’t think pedophilia should ever be put into practice, I think there’s got to be a midpoint between the insane attitude we currently have toward it – pedophiles should be castrated or killed – and free acceptance of it. Louie C.K. has a bit about how if pedophilia wasn’t so stigmatized, fewer children would die (the logic being, if the pedophile doesn’t see murder of and sex with the child as basically equivalent in the eyes of the society, he’d be less likely to kill the child to cover over the fact he had sex with him/her). (Sorry to be so graphic).

    Alex

    August 18, 2011 at 6:48 am

    • I don’t think it’s accidental, just embarrassing. They probably focus-tested it like they would anything else.

      As for 2), I’ve heard that Louis C.K. bit, but I don’t know that he’s really done the research there. In any event, my understanding is that most pedophiles are themselves victims of abuse, which makes it rather different than other sexual orientations. And to the extent that it’s a pathology I don’t know that this “non-offending” idea is really sustainable.

      But obviously I’m not an expert.

      gerrycanavan

      August 18, 2011 at 9:32 am

  2. I think The Lord of the Rings belongs on a top 100 list. If you don’t, I challenge you to list 100 SF/F books that are better. (I’m not saying that LotR is the best thing ever. But it’s definitely top 100.)

    Stepehn Frug

    August 18, 2011 at 9:22 am

    • CHALLENGE ACCEPTED.

      …I agree it belongs in the top 100, but it looked to me like this was a ranked list and that it was coming in at position #1.

      gerrycanavan

      August 18, 2011 at 9:24 am

      • “CHALLENGE ACCEPTED.”

        I look forward to it.

        As for the rank: I guess I didn’t see that it was a ranked list. In which case, I probably wouldn’t put it #1… but then, I don’t think I’d try to list them in order, either. Hard enough to pick 100. (But if I did, LotR would be among them.)

        Stepehn Frug

        August 18, 2011 at 12:02 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,229 other followers

